Workshop

When beginning project three, I was given a prior research task to complete before starting the new brief. The task was to print off 10 images, two lots, in in black and white and other in colour. These images would then be used in the image manipulation workshop, trying different pen, colour blocking and pattern techniques. Colour manipulation is an interesting way of taking an original image and changing certain parts of it to create a new design. Copyrights of images can be difficult in the creative sector and therefore to by extra careful, image manipulation allows the deigned to comfortably use the image without taking another artists rightful piece of work.

Initially I was reluctant when doing this task as I felt uncomfortable with the process of playing with images and not having a specific outcome look at the end. Essentially it was creative ‘playing’ and this was something I haven’t had a lot of previous experience of.  However I thoroughly enjoyed the process of experimenting with different media, especially coloured pink card and white and gold opaque felt tip pens. Tracing paper, with coloured paper and coloured opaque white and gold pens.

To Kill A Mockingbird

“Remember It’s a sin to kill a mockingbird” – Atticus

When given the brief, my immediate thoughts were of all visuals and images that could be used for this project. For part one, our project is a live brief for Penguin Books. To design a book cover the the award winning novel To Kill A Mockingbird, the design has to be fresh and avoid styles to previous book cover designs for this popular book.

By doing thorough research on the book’s plot and also by watching the oscar winning film, I was able to condense what the novel was about and it’s different symbols and visuals could be experimented with creatively.

To begin with I collected existing book cover designs of the novel, which in essence were predominantly dated in style and had a classic approach design wise. Then I found various images of other book designs of other novels, predominantly well known ones with some really exciting design approaches. Generally they used illustration and a lot of block colouring which is a style I would perhaps explore myself when designing my book cover.

Book cover examples and template.

Famous quotes from the novel.

 

A summery of the main points and themes of the novel.

Initial brainstorming

I then began to explore my initial thoughts and ideas for the project in response to the research I had dome so far. By sketching them out, It made it easier to see the possible book cover designs come to reality on paper. By taking my favourite visuals from the film, I then sketched out scout in the car tire which is rolling along the ground. I used various sizes of fine liners and drawing techniques and found to enjoy doing this a lot.

I refined the sketching to the one on the bottom far right.
Colour development of my favourite logo using block coloured card and tracing paper. 

Font exploration

I had a quick look at the types of font that I could use for any project, although this may be subject to change due to the image of illustration I choose to use for my book cover design.

Leave a Reply

